thoughts of a thinker

“Cogito, ergo sum (I think, therefore I am).” –Rene Descartes

2008: the year that was

i look back at 2008 with quite a lot of regret: i’ve had so many wasted chances that i could never have again. in 2008, i had dreamed up a lot of things that i have not achieved, mainly because of my own lack of determination and comfort with mediocrity.

it was so different 10 years ago, way back in 1998. then, i was a kick-ass go-getter. then, it didn’t matter if what i wanted seemed out of this world. no matter what, i worked hard for it and got it. now that i’m older, it seems as if i’ve lost my love to win and excel and get what i want. it’s too early to get tired of life and to get tired of fighting for things i want to happen with me.

through the years, i think i have lost my zest for living. i feel like an “old” young woman…happy with the way things are when they could be other ways…happy in my little nook, in my little shell.

but i realize that this year i’ve learned the meaning of acceptance to fault. this is how things are; deal with it and get on with your life.

2009: i want to rev things up for me, go to places i wanna go, be someone i wanna be. time to get out of my comfort zone. i’m getting older, and it’s gonna be now or never.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

